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The Public Utility Commission of Texas (the commission) adopts amendments to §22.246 relating to 

Administrative Penalties with no changes to the proposed text as published in the November 12, 1999 

Texas Register (24 TexReg 9916). The amendments implement the Public Utility Regulatory Act 

(PURA), Texas Utilities Code Annotated, §15.024(c) (Vernon 1999 Supp.)  These amendments were 

adopted under Project Number 21420. 

The new provision in PURA §15.024(c) eliminates the 30-day "cure" period for violations of PURA 

Chapters 17, 55, and 64. 

Upon publication of the proposed rule in the November 12, 1999 Texas Register (24 TexReg 9916), 

the commission requested written comments from all interested parties regarding this rulemaking. The 

commission received comments on the proposed amendments from only Texas Statewide Telephone 

Cooperative, Inc. (TSTCI) which expressed the organization's support for the proposed amendments. 

A public hearing on the proposed amendments was held at the commission offices on January 18, 2000, 

at 9:00 a.m. Representatives from TSTCI, AT&T, GTE, SWBT, Reliant Energy, John Staurulakis, 

Inc., and Clark Thomas & Winters attended the hearing; however, no one participated in the 

proceedings and, therefore, there were no comments. 
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The adopted amendments: 

1.	 Eliminate the 30-day "cure" period for violations of PURA Chapters 17, 55, and 64; 

2.	 Clarify that a violator may not opt to pay a penalty without also taking appropriate corrective 

action; and 

3.	 Clarify that the term, "continuing violation," which is defined in the rule, is used in conjunction 

with the term, "violation," wherever it is appropriate throughout the amended rule. 

The amendments are adopted under the Public Utility Regulatory Act, Texas Utilities Code Annotated 

§14.002 (Vernon 1999Supp.) (PURA), which provides the Public Utility Commission with the authority 

to adopt and enforce rules reasonably required in the exercise of its powers and jurisdiction; under 

PURA §14.052, which provides the Public Utility Commission with the authority to adopt and enforce 

rules governing practice and procedure before the Commission and, as applicable, before the State 

Office of Administrative Hearings; and under PURA §15.024(c) which eliminates the 30-day "cure" 

period for violations of PURA Chapters 17, 55, and 64. 

Cross Reference to Statutes: Public Utility Regulatory Act §§14.002, 14.052, and 15.024(c), and 

Chapters 17, 55, and 64. 
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§22.246. Administrative Penalties. 

(a)	 Scope. This section is intended to address enforcement actions related to administrative 

penalties only and does not apply to any other enforcement actions that may be undertaken by 

the commission or the commission staff. 

(b)	 Definitions. The following words and terms, when used in this section, shall have the following 

meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

(1)	 Executive director — The executive director of the commission or the executive 

director's designee. 

(2)	 Person — Includes a natural person, partnership of two or more persons having a joint 

or common interest, mutual or cooperative association, and corporation. 

(3)	 Violation — Any activity or conduct prohibited by the Public Utility Regulatory Act 

(PURA), commission rule or commission order. 

(4)	 Continuing violation — Except for a violation of PURA Chapter 17, 55, or 64, and 

commission rules or commission orders pursuant to those chapters, any instance in 

which the person alleged to have committed a violation attests that a violation has been 

remedied and was accidental or inadvertent and subsequent investigation reveals that 

the violation has not been remedied or was not accidental or inadvertent. 

(c) Amount of penalty. 
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(1)	 Each day a violation continues or occurs is a separate violation for which a penalty can 

be levied, regardless of the status of any administrative procedures that are initiated 

under this subsection. 

(2)	 The penalty for each separate violation may be in an amount not to exceed $5,000.00 

per day. 

(3)	 The amount of the penalty shall be based on: 

(A)	 the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and 

gravity of any prohibited acts, and the hazard or potential hazard created to the 

health, safety, or economic welfare of the public: 

(B)	 the economic harm to property or the environment caused by the violation; 

(C)	 the history of previous violations; 

(D)	 the amount necessary to deter future violations; 

(E)	 efforts to correct the violation; and 

(F)	 any other matter that justice may require, including, but not limited to, the 

respondent's timely compliance with requests for information, completeness of 

responses, and the manner in which the respondent has cooperated with the 

commission during the investigation of the alleged violation. 

(d)	 Initiation of investigation. Upon receiving an allegation of a violation or of a continuing 

violation, the executive director shall determine whether an investigation should be initiated. 
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(e)	 Report of violation or continuing violation. If, based on the investigation undertaken 

pursuant to subsection (d) of this section, the executive director determines that a violation or a 

continuing violation has occurred, the executive director may issue a report to the commission. 

(1)	 Contents of the report. The report shall state the facts on which the determination is 

based and a recommendation on the imposition of a penalty, including a 

recommendation on the amount of the penalty. 

(2)	 Notice of report. Within 14 days after the report is issued, the executive director shall, 

by certified mail, return receipt requested, give written notice of the report to the person 

who is alleged to have committed the violation or continuing violation which is the 

subject of the report. The notice must include: 

(A)	 a brief summary of the alleged violation or continuing violation; 

(B)	 a statement of the amount of the recommended penalty; 

(C)	 a statement that the person who is alleged to have committed the violation or 

continuing violation has a right to a hearing on the occurrence of the violation or 

continuing violation, the amount of the penalty, or both the occurrence of the 

violation or continuing violation and the amount of the penalty; 

(D)	 a copy of the report issued to the commission pursuant to this subsection; and, 

(E)	 a copy of this section, §22.246 of this title (relating to Administrative Penalties). 

(f)	 Options for response to notice of violation or continuing violation. 

(1) Opportunity to remedy. 



PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION OF TEXAS PAGE 6 OF 10 
PROCEDURAL RULES. CHAPTER 22. 

(A)	 This paragraph does not apply to a violation of PURA Chapters 17, 55, or 64, 

or of a commission rule or commission order pursuant to those chapters. 

(B)	 Within 40 days of the date of receipt of a notice of violation set out in 

subsection (e)(2) of this section, the person against whom the penalty may be 

assessed may file with the commission proof that the alleged violation has been 

remedied and that the alleged violation was accidental or inadvertent. A person 

who claims to have remedied an alleged violation has the burden of proving to 

the commission both that an alleged violation was remedied before the 31st day 

after the date the person received the report of violation and that the alleged 

violation was accidental or inadvertent. Proof that an alleged violation has been 

remedied and that the alleged violation was accidental or inadvertent shall be 

evidenced in writing, under oath, and supported by necessary documentation. 

(C)	 If the executive director determines that the alleged violation has been remedied, 

was remedied within 30 days, and that the alleged violation was accidental or 

inadvertent, no penalty will be assessed against the person who is alleged to 

have committed the violation. 

(D)	 If the executive director determines that the alleged violation was not remedied 

or was not accidental or inadvertent, the executive director shall make a 

determination as to what further proceedings are necessary. 
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(E)	 If the executive director determines that the alleged violation is a continuing 

violation, the executive director shall institute further proceedings, including 

referral of the matter for hearing pursuant to subsection (h) of this section. 

(2)	 Payment of penalty. Within 30 days after the date the person receives the notice set 

out in subsection (e)(2) of this section, the person may accept the determination and 

recommended penalty through a written statement sent to the executive director. If this 

option is selected, the person shall take all corrective action required by the 

commission. The commission by written order shall approve the determination and 

impose the recommended penalty. 

(3)	 Request for hearing.  Not later than the 20th day after the date the person receives 

the notice set out in subsection (e)(2) of this section, the person may submit to the 

executive director a written request for a hearing on the occurrence of the violation or 

continuing violation, the amount of the penalty, or both the occurrence of the violation or 

continuing violation and the amount of the penalty. 

(g)	 Settlement conference. A settlement conference may be requested by any party to discuss 

the occurrence of the violation or continuing violation, the amount of the penalty, and the 

possibility of reaching a settlement prior to hearing. A settlement conference is not subject to 

the Texas Rules of Evidence or the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure; however, the discussions 

are subject to Texas Rules of Civil Evidence 408, concerning compromise and offers to 

compromise. 
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(1)	 If a settlement is reached: 

(A)	 the parties shall file a report with the executive director setting forth the factual 

basis for the settlement; 

(B)	 the executive director shall issue the report of settlement to the commission; and 

(C)	 the commission by written order will approve the settlement. 

(2)	 If a settlement is reached after the matter has been referred to SOAH, the matter shall 

be returned to the commission. If the settlement is approved, the commission shall issue 

an order memorializing commission approval and setting forth commission orders 

associated with the settlement agreement. 

(h)	 Hearing. If a person requests a hearing under subsection (f)(3) of this section, or fails to 

respond timely to the notice of the report of violation or continuing violation provided pursuant 

to subsection (e)(2) of this section, or if the executive director determines that further 

proceedings are necessary, the executive director shall set a hearing, provide notice of the 

hearing to the person, and refer the case to SOAH pursuant to §22.207 of this title (relating to 

Referral to State Office of Administrative Hearings). The case shall then proceed as set forth in 

paragraphs (1)-(5) of this subsection. 

(1)	 The commission shall provide the SOAH administrative law judge a list of issues or 

areas that must be addressed. 

(2)	 The hearing shall be conducted in accordance with the provisions of this chapter. 



PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION OF TEXAS PAGE 9 OF 10 
PROCEDURAL RULES. CHAPTER 22. 

(3)	 The SOAH administrative law judge shall promptly issue to the commission a proposal 

for decision, including findings of fact and conclusions of law, about: 

(A)	 the occurrence of the alleged violation or continuing violation; 

(B)	 whether the alleged violation was cured and was accidental or inadvertent for a 

violation of any chapter other than PURA Chapters 17, 55, or 64, or of a 

commission rule or commission order pursuant to those chapters; and 

(C)	 the amount of the proposed penalty. 

(4)	 Based on the SOAH administrative law judge's proposal for decision, the commission 

may: 

(A)	 determine that a violation or continuing violation has occurred and impose a 

penalty; 

(B)	 determine that a violation occurred but that, pursuant to subsection (f)(1) of this 

section, the person remedied the violation within 30 days and proved that the 

violation was accidental or inadvertent, and that no penalty will be imposed; or 

(C)	 determine that no violation or continuing violation has occurred. 

(5)	 Notice of the commission's order issued pursuant to paragraph (4) of this subsection 

shall be provided under the Government Code, Chapter 2001 and §22.263 of this title 

(relating to Final Orders) and shall include a statement that the person has a right to 

judicial review of the order. 



_________________________________________ 

_________________________________________ 

_________________________________________ 

PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION OF TEXAS PAGE 10 OF 10 
PROCEDURAL RULES. CHAPTER 22. 

This agency hereby certifies that the rule, as adopted, has been reviewed by legal counsel and found 

to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal authority. It is therefore ordered by the Public Utility 

Commission of Texas that amendments to §22.246 relating to Administrative Penalties are hereby 

adopted with no changes to the text as proposed. 

ISSUED IN AUSTIN, TEXAS ON THE 22nd DAY OF FEBRUARY 2000. 

PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION OF TEXAS 

Chairman Pat Wood, III 

Commissioner Judy Walsh 

Commissioner Brett A. Perlman 


