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There are many electric payment assistance programs that serve 
low-income and victims of family violence customers. If you qualify 
for federal aid and are having difficulty paying for your electric 

service or cannot afford the service 
deposit, check into the following 
programs.
Low-Income Electric Discount Program
The Low-Income Electric Discount 
Program (LITE-UP Texas) provides a 
discount on electric rates to quali-

fied low-income customers who live in deregulated areas and can 
choose their own Retail Electric Provider (REP). The program is 
funded for twelve months starting in September 2015 and will run 
through August 2016.
The amount of the discount may change depending on funding 
availability. Contact your REP or log on to www.puc.texas.gov/
industry/projects/electric/24116/24116.aspx and then click on the 
Low-Income Discount Rates link to view the current discount rates. 
You may automatically be enrolled in the discount program if you 
are already receiving certain Health and Human Services Commis-
sion benefits, such as SNAP and Medicaid. You may also qualify for 
the discount if your total household income is at or below 125% of 
the federal poverty guidelines. Call toll free at 1-866-454-8387 or 
go to http://www.puc.texas.gov/consumer/lowincome/Assistance.
aspx  for an application or more information on the LITE-UP Texas 
program.
Please be aware that the discount under the LITE-Up Texas  pro-
gram is ending in 2016. Low-income customers served by investor-
owned utilities, electric coops, and city-owned utilities should ask 
their electric provider if they have low-income assistance programs.
Other Low-Income Services

•• Payment Assistance Funds – Your Retail Electric Provider may
have funds to assist you in times of need. If you can not pay your
bill, contact them immediately.

•• Average Payment Plan – All Retail Electric Providers must offer
customers average payment plans that allow them to pay a similar

amount every month. Certain conditions may apply.

•• Bill Deadline Extension – If you cannot pay your electric bill on
time, contact your Retail Electric Provider immediately and ask for
an extension on your due date.

•• Deferred Payment Plan – Your Retail Electric Provider may offer
a deferred payment plan that will stretch out your payments over a
period of time.

•• Additional information regarding payment assistance in your
area may be obtained by contacting 1-2-1-1.

Victims of Family Violence

If you are a victim of family violence, you are eligible to have your 
electric service deposit waived. To qualify as a victim of fam-
ily violence, you will need to provide a Texas Council on Family 
Violence deposit waiver certification letter. The letter must be filled 
out by family violence center personnel, treating medical person-
nel, law enforcement personnel, a Texas District Attorney or County 
Attorney, Office of the Attorney General personnel, or a grantee of 
the Texas Equal Access to Justice Foundation. The letter must be 
submitted directly to the Retail Electric Provider using the REP’s 
toll-free FAX number. A copy of the deposit waiver certification 
letter can be obtained on our website at http://www.puc.texas.gov/
consumer/lowincome/DepWaivFrm.pdf.
2016 Federal Poverty Guidelines 

Number in Household Annual income - 125% of 
Federal Poverty Level

1 $14,850
2 $20,025
3 $25,200
4 $30,375
5 $35,550
6 $40,725
7 $45,913
8 $51,113

Each additional add $5,200

QUESTIONS:
Call:	 1-888-782-8477, in Austin 512-936-7120 Write:	 PUC - Customer Protection Division	

(TTY 512-936-7136) (FAX 512-936-7003)			 P.O. Box 13326, 
Austin, TX 78711-3326

Online: http://www.puc.texas.gov/consumer/complaint/Complaint.aspx
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